's All-District 2 boys team

Abington Heights all-state forward George Tinsley
Abington Heights all-state forward George Tinsley

Abington Heights was again the last District 2 boys basketball team standing.

In a follow-up to their 2017-18 Class 5A state championship, the Comets returned to the semifinals where an overtime loss finally halted their hopes of repeating.

Another impressive run, however, meant repeats for George Tinsley and Ken Bianchi as NEPABasketball’com’s Player and Coach of the Year on its All-District 2 team.

Scranton Prep’s Leo O’Boyle also repeated as a first-team all-star.

Dimitri Gnall from Wyoming Seminary and Nate Kreitzer from Nanticoke moved up from second team a year ago to first-team selections this season.

Of the 11 players selected, 9 are seniors.

The complete team:


Coach of the Year

Ken Bianchi, Abington Heights

Player of the Year

George Tinsley, Abington Heights senior

First Team

Da’mir Faison, Hazleton Area senior

Dimitri Gnall, Wyoming Seminary senior

Will Johnson, GAR senior

Nate Kreitzer, Nanticoke senior

Leo O’Boyle, Scranton Prep senior

Second Team

Marcus Bauman, Scranton senior

Kieran Burrier, Holy Cross junior

Tyler Faux, Tunkhannock senior

Trey Koehler, Abington Heights senior

Elijah Rosenthal, Wallenpaupack junior